UF prominent at annual Florida Medical Association meeting

Faculty and students of the University of Florida College of Medicine won honors and elections at the Florida Medical Association's recent annual meeting in Orlando.

Jeffrey L. Goldhagen, M.D., a clinical associate professor and division chief of general pediatrics at the college's Jacksonville campus, was one of four physicians awarded a Certificate of Appreciation for outstanding service to the FMA, the medical profession and the public. Goldhagen directs the Duval County Health Department and is known for his work on family health-care issues facing developing nations.

David Paulus, M.D., a professor of anesthesiology, was elected alternate delegate from Florida to the American Medical Association. He was the only alternate elected who was not an incumbent or a previous member of the delegation.

Third-year resident Druery DeVore, M.D., of the UF College of Medicine obstetrics and gynecology department, was elected UF representative to the FMA Resident Physician Section's Governing Council and appointed to the FMA Council on Legislation.

Opening ceremonies for the House of Delegates events featured a vocal performance by Jim Wynn, M.D., a May graduate of UF's College of Medicine who is now serving as a pediatric intern. Wynn sang "The Star-Spangled Banner," "God Bless America" and "I Hope You Dance."

Fourth-year medical student Joy Kunishige received the Gerold L. Schiebler Scholarship, awarded by the Florida Medical Foundation to a Florida medical student who demonstrates outstanding dedication to organized medicine and public health.

Now in its second year, the $5,000 scholarship is named for Gerold L. Schiebler, M.D., who formerly served as UF's associate vice president of health affairs for external relations and as FMA president and now is an adjunct distinguished service professor of pediatrics at UF's College of Medicine. At the meeting, Schiebler was reappointed to three leadership positions, including vice-chair of the Florida Medical Foundation Physician�s Resource Network Committee. He also received a Certificate of Appreciation from the FMA Medical Student Section for his service to Florida medical students.

Marc Inglese was elected chair of the FMA Medical Student Section Governing Council, succeeding third-year medical student Janice Ho, who received the Governing Council Chair Award this year for her past efforts.