Childbirth Education Classes

The Childbirth Education Class is intended to prepare expectant parents for labor and birth.

Pregnant women breathingIt is conveniently offered as a one day class on a Saturday and covers a variety of topics including:

  • The birthing process and stages of labor
  • Breathing and relaxation techniques
  • Pain management options
  • Cesarean section preparation and recovery
  • Postpartum care
  • Newborn care
  • And more

This course also includes a tour of the triage, labor and delivery, and mother baby unit. 

Where

  • UF Health Shands Hospital
    Take Main Lobby Atrium elevators to the 9th floor. Follow the signs to Conference Room 9433.
  • Parking: Park in the hospital’s East garage near the Pediatric Emergency Entrance. Parking fee will be $4 for self-park and $6 valet parking (with voucher given at class).

Cost

  • $50.00 (cash, check, or money order) collected on the day of the class.

Additional Information

  • Participants are asked to wear pants (or something modest) for pushing demonstration. Snacks and beverages are allowed. 

Register

    Important Information

    Please schedule your childbirth classes so that they end 3-4 weeks prior to your due date. For more information, please call 352-265-0317 or email CHILDBIRTHED@shands.ufl.edu.

    2018 Class Schedule

    • December 15th

    2019 Class Schedule

    • Saturday, January 12
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, February 9
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, March 9
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, April 13
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, May 11
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, June 8
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, July 13
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, August 10
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, September 14
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, October 12
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, November 9
      9:00 to 3:30 pm
    • Saturday, December 14
      9:00 to 3:30 pm