Breastfeeding Class

The Breastfeeding Class is intended to provide important information about the basics of breastfeeding.

Topics covered include:

Breastfeeding Newborn

  • What to expect during the immediate postpartum period
  • Benefits of breastfeeding
  • Positioning of the infant for optimal latch
  • Common concerns when breastfeeding
  • Pumping and storing breastmilk

    Where

    • UF Health Shands Hospital
      Take Main Lobby Atrium elevators to the 9th floor. Follow the signs to Conference Room 9433.
    • Parking: Park in the hospital’s East garage near the Pediatric Emergency Entrance. Parking fee will be $4 for self-park and $6 valet parking (with voucher given at class).

    Cost

    • $15.00 (cash, check, or money order) collected on the day of the class.

    Register

    Important Information

    Please schedule your childbirth classes so that they end 3-4 weeks prior to your due date. For more information, please call 352-265-0317 or email CHILDBIRTHED@shands.ufl.edu.

    Current 2019 Class Schedule

    • Tuesday, October 22
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, November 19
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, December 10
      7:00-9:00 pm

    2020 Class Schedule

    • Tuesday, January 21
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, February 25
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, March 17
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, April 14
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, May 26
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, June 23
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, July 21
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, August 25
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, September 22
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, October 20
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, November 17
      7:00-9:00 pm
    • Tuesday, December 8
      7:00-9:00 pm